LCDHost Forums

LCDHost => LCDHost Discussion => Topic started by: bob452 on 2012-03-30 14:53:51

Title: Problem with lcdhost and screensaver
Post by: bob452 on 2012-03-30 14:53:51
Hi

First, thank for that superb programm. I earned a G19 a couple of month ago and was at first disapointed by it. Then i found LCDhost ^^

But I have a small problem with my main monitor (an asus) since I installed LCDhost:
As long as LCDhost is running, my monitor's screensaver doesnt work after the normal 5min. My monitor doesnt shut down either after the normal 15 min
-> My monitor is allways on

I tried killing a lot of process, and its allways the same. LCDhost is the one and only thing i have to stop, so that my screensaver work again, then the monitor shuts down normally

I tried so much things, Im now clueless. ( I tried to disconnect all my usb devices one by one, I tried to kill the programs one by one and so on....)
Has anyone the same problem? Does someone know, how I could solve that issue?
Title: Re: Problem with lcdhost and screensaver
Post by: SirReal on 2012-04-02 11:24:15
Probably a bu, although I can't think of what should cause that. Is there any particular screensaver you're using?
Title: Re: Problem with lcdhost and screensaver
Post by: bob452 on 2012-04-04 10:20:45
a bu? You mean a bug?

I use one of the preinstalled screensaver in windows (but my windows is hacked ^^)
Title: Re: Problem with lcdhost and screensaver
Post by: John_Edward on 2012-05-28 12:37:36
I'll revive this, as I have a same kind of a problem.

I have set my monitors to go to sleep in 20minutes, but when LCDHost is running, it doesn't work.
I also have a script that closes my monitors that I use whenever I leave.
They do close, but after a few minutes, they come on again.
It seems that LCDHost is waking the screens for some reason, but it would seem to be something that happens every few minutes or so.

If I close LCDHost, this problem goes away.

I am using 0.0.25, but this problem was with 0.0.24 too.
Title: Re: Problem with lcdhost and screensaver
Post by: SirReal on 2012-05-28 14:36:25
Try disabling plugins, see if it's one of them causing the problem.
Title: Re: Problem with lcdhost and screensaver
Post by: John_Edward on 2012-05-28 14:48:46
I unloaded every single plugin, the problem still exists, even though the screen only shows the "LOGITECH LCD SCREEN SAVER"
Title: Re: Problem with lcdhost and screensaver
Post by: SirReal on 2012-05-29 11:42:37
I unloaded every single plugin, the problem still exists, even though the screen only shows the "LOGITECH LCD SCREEN SAVER"

Wait what? That's strange indeed. I'll see if I can reproduce this myself.
Title: Re: Problem with lcdhost and screensaver
Post by: outtamymind on 2013-10-07 16:12:06
i know this is an old thread, but was this issue ever resolved.

i just got a G19 and have been using LCDHost. but my screensavers or power management do not operate normally.

if LCDHost is not running everything works correctly.

I am using the following.

Windows 7 Ultimate
LCDHost V.034 (which i believe is the latest version.)
Title: Re: Problem with lcdhost and screensaver
Post by: John_Edward on 2013-10-07 17:16:55
Hah, email notif reminded me

I updated my computer, reinstalled windows, and I updated Logitech Gaming Software from the legacy version to the newest one, and this problem still persists.

These are the specs for my setups where this problem exists:
1) Intel C2D 8400 / Asus P5Q-Pro / GTX275 (and GTX570)
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
G15 & LCDhost 0.24 to 0.34

2) Intel i5 4670K / Gigabyte Z87X-D3H / GTX 570
Windows 7 Professional 64bit
G15 & LCDhost 0.34
Title: Re: Problem with lcdhost and screensaver
Post by: outtamymind on 2013-10-07 18:05:31
i was looking through the registry and noticed 2 entries that might be the cause.

i'll be testing a few things later tonight and post back what i find.

i love the LCDHost setup and want to keep it going but i need to be able to have my screens turn off without having to do it manually.
Title: Re: Problem with lcdhost and screensaver
Post by: who0p on 2013-10-16 23:58:52
I remember having this problem a while back, and I never new what caused it. I dont remember how I fixed it either, because I just lived with it for a while then one day, the screensaver and screen timeout started to work.
Have you tried changing the theme in Appearance & Personalization, also changing screen saver setting? Do you have the latest logitech software, version 8.5?
Title: Re: Problem with lcdhost and screensaver
Post by: xiinator on 2013-10-20 04:27:16
I have the latest Logitech drivers installed and I'm having the same issues with lcdhost. I'm still on v.025 as that seems to be the ONLY version that works perfectly. All the later versions the graphics screw up and the layout seems to "run away". Did those registry settings work? What were they? Any solution?
Title: Re: Problem with lcdhost and screensaver
Post by: who0p on 2013-10-23 03:33:40
I'm still on v.025 as that seems to be the ONLY version that works perfectly. All the later versions the graphics screw up and the layout seems to "run away".

Have you tried v34 to see if the problem goes away? What do you mean the graphics screw up?

I loaded the default Eos layout. There is 1 problem with it, that maybe the cause of your "graphics screw up".
* In the "Instances" box, you should see "Gaming BG". Click on that.
* To the right in the "General" box, you should see "Value Type". Make sure its set to "Game Name", and not "Current FPS"
Title: Re: Problem with lcdhost and screensaver
Post by: xiinator on 2013-10-24 02:08:01
The "graphic screwup" would be I would get weird color spotches and lines during image changes.
(http://www.xiinator.net/public/glitch02.png).

I just now did a clean install of .34 and so far no MAJOR glitching but I do see a dot in the upper-left corner. If you look closely at the image below you'll see a small dot (I know nit-picky) on the upper-left corner (and NO it's NOT part of any image or anything). Sometimes I'll have random dots somewhere on the display.

(http://www.xiinator.net/public/dot.png)

Version .34 did NOT solve my screensaver issue as it still will not pop up while lcdhost is running. (I also did not used to have this issue with .25).

Version .34 also does not seem to be able to keep my image read data from another item as it resets back to nothing every time I restart the program.

Going back to .25...again.
Title: Re: Problem with lcdhost and screensaver
Post by: who0p on 2013-10-25 01:38:00
Could I possibly have a copy of your layout?


Title: Re: Problem with lcdhost and screensaver
Post by: xiinator on 2013-10-26 02:21:30
Are you asking for the background images? The first or second image?

Edit:: Well what do you know, suddenly my screensaver is working again. I'm back to version .25 and the screensaver is in fact working, even after reboots. It just magically started working, perhaps something happened in my installing/uninstalling (using iobit uninstaller) versions .25/.34 and reinstalling .25. Don't have a clue what could have fixed it.

Edit2:: Nevermind. After shutting down for the night and booting it up in the morning it is back to no screensaver. :o
Title: Re: Problem with lcdhost and screensaver
Post by: xiinator on 2014-06-27 19:15:21
So does anyone else have this issue? My screensaver continues to refuse to activate (on alpha 37).
Title: Re: Problem with lcdhost and screensaver
Post by: novax1 on 2014-06-27 19:50:27
So does anyone else have this issue? My screensaver continues to refuse to activate (on alpha 37).

so that you can free installation errors relaizar this post
http://forum.linkdata.se/topicseen./lcdhost-discussion/lcdhost-not-displaying-g19-703.msg4920.html#new
Title: Re: Problem with lcdhost and screensaver
Post by: xiinator on 2014-06-27 23:46:32
Clean uninstall and reinstall did not help, sorry... still prevents windows from entering screensaver mode.
Title: Re: Problem with lcdhost and screensaver
Post by: novax1 on 2014-06-28 06:06:08
Clean uninstall and reinstall did not help, sorry... still prevents windows from entering screensaver mode.

forgive me if my explanation is not clear but I have to translate.
LCDhos the installation does not create any vercion screensaver.
if you mean pictures showing your design, then try the all are with where I think the design file.
everything has queir in the same folder.
if it refers to windows screensaver, right click the  screen and in the window that opens will ha personalize  , and there comes out the options to disable the screen saver.
Title: Re: Problem with lcdhost and screensaver
Post by: Zash on 2017-11-23 01:44:01
Any progress on this?

My system will not sleep, activate screensaver, etc when LCDHost is active.

I used a powershell script to find out what the problem is using GetLastInputInfo and user32.dll. It turns out that LCDHost keeps sending the OS signals to indicate user is present, so the system never thinks it is idle. Idle counter is stopped. Exiting LCDHost immediately fixes the problem and starts the idle counter.

Script as below: rename to xxx.ps1, right click and select "run with powershell":

Code: [Select]
Add-Type @'
using System;
using System.Diagnostics;
using System.Runtime.InteropServices;

namespace PInvoke.Win32 {

    public static class UserInput {

        [DllImport("user32.dll", SetLastError=false)]
        private static extern bool GetLastInputInfo(ref LASTINPUTINFO plii);

        [StructLayout(LayoutKind.Sequential)]
        private struct LASTINPUTINFO {
            public uint cbSize;
            public int dwTime;
        }

        public static DateTime LastInput {
            get {
                DateTime bootTime = DateTime.UtcNow.AddMilliseconds(-Environment.TickCount);
                DateTime lastInput = bootTime.AddMilliseconds(LastInputTicks);
                return lastInput;
            }
        }

        public static TimeSpan IdleTime {
            get {
                return DateTime.UtcNow.Subtract(LastInput);
            }
        }

        public static int LastInputTicks {
            get {
                LASTINPUTINFO lii = new LASTINPUTINFO();
                lii.cbSize = (uint)Marshal.SizeOf(typeof(LASTINPUTINFO));
                GetLastInputInfo(ref lii);
                return lii.dwTime;
            }
        }
    }
}
'@
while($true){
Start-Sleep -s 1
$Last = [PInvoke.Win32.UserInput]::LastInput
$Idle = [PInvoke.Win32.UserInput]::IdleTime
$LastStr = $Last.ToLocalTime().ToString("MM/dd/yyyy hh:mm:ss tt")
Write-Host ("Last user keyboard/mouse input: " + $LastStr)
Write-Host ("Idle for " + $Idle.Days + " days, " + $Idle.Hours + " hours, " + $Idle.Minutes + " minutes, " + $Idle.Seconds + " seconds.")
}
Title: Re: Problem with lcdhost and screensaver
Post by: John_Edward on 2017-12-17 23:31:27
I can confirm this as well - idle keeps resetting constantly when LCDhost is running (around every 18 seconds or so), closing it fixes the problem. I tested with a blank layout with no plugins loaded as well and it didn't fix the issue. Couldn't be bothered to crawl to unplug my G15 to see if disconnecting the display would fix it.

Then again, it's very unlikely that sirreal would fix this even if we could precisely pinpoint what is it that does it, but the sources are up on Github (https://github.com/linkdata/LCDHost) for anyone mad enough to have a go. Two years so far with nothing though, so my hopes are rather low.

I just put my computer to sleep when I'm not using it and for times I need to keep it on, I just close my monitors by myself anyway.
Title: Re: Problem with lcdhost and screensaver
Post by: Zash on 2017-12-30 08:06:25
Thanks for the reply.

I wish to perform tasks while idle, such as start cryptominers, and then exit/stop once there is user input.

Currently, I see no way to do this while LCDHost is running :(

Unfortunately, any task which requires the system idle condition is broken, not just sleep.

Any advice anyone? Perhaps there is some way of telling windows to ignore user input from LCDhost?